Posted in Fractions, Numbers, Primary Three

Equivalent fractions

This is the second time I am teaching equivalent fractions to Primary 3 students.

As before, I got students to fold strips and to discover that 1/2 = 2/4 = 4/8.

This time, I also used number lines to show equivalent fractions. Metre rulers were used to represent number lines so students can see the markings on the rulers and be more exact in demarcating the various fractions.

Students watched a YouTube video by Mrs T Allen-Stokes and figured out how to distribute 15 gold bars equally between 2 people using the concept of equivalent fractions. I was delighted that students came up with different solutions.

They also read a story where the magic words were “What you do to the top, you do to the bottom”. These magic words were catchy and they could memorise them in no time.

The story inspired a conscientious student to create her own fractions stories:

Mathematics is fun. 🙂

Author:

I have taught mathematics at the primary level for more than 10 years and was honoured to have headed the math department of a primary school between 2005 and 2011. I was also privileged to have taught pre-service teachers in NIE for 6 years. I have learnt a lot from my teaching experiences and from my students. I am currently a Happy Teacher at a primary school again and hope to bring about the love for mathematics to my students. This blog consolidates ideas that colleagues, students at NIE and I have used. It also showcases interesting work by children. Hope it will be a blessing to teachers, parents and students alike. God bless the readers. :)

Leave a comment